A Bit Of A Battering!

Last month I played in the Veteran’s Banded Tournament. At the weekend I played in the all ages Edinburgh Banded Tournament. In my group of nine players were five under 18s. In fact one was under 10 and all were ranked higher than me! I’m not sure which was worse, being beaten by 70 year olds or primary school kids!

Despite winning only one match out of eight it was still a good experience and I did win some sets. I particularly enjoyed the last match of the day against Sam. I recovered from two sets down to take it into a decider but then lost the fifth.

The results were as follows:

The subsequent impact on my rating score was a decrease of 41 from 607 to 566.

Some photos…

So just a couple more practice sessions this week before flying out to Crete next Tuesday! Tonight I played quite well at the North Ayrshire session including two close 2-1 defeats to Tamara and Bruce. Tomorrow I will have a final session in Irvine before enjoying a few days staying with my daughter Jennifer and son-in-law to be David before heading to Gatwick to stay at the Premier Inn on Monday evening for a 7am flight on Tuesday morning (meaning we need to check in at 5am!).

Tomorrow the classification list for the Parkinson’s World Championships will be published. I have to admit I am a little nervous as to which class I will be placed but we’ll deal with that tomorrow! Details will also be published of the arrangements for the doubles in which I would like to play but currently don’t have a partner in either the Men’s or Mixed Doubles. Again let’s see what tomorrow brings!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.