Archive for October 15, 2023

PD+5. Five Years On.

Posted in Uncategorized on October 15, 2023 by ayrshiretiger

Five years ago today I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease. I had actually noticed the first symptoms a year earlier in September 2017 while on holiday in Crete when my right arm wasn’t swinging as I walked. A visit to my GP and subsequent referral to Neurology followed. A year seems a long time but many people take a lot longer to be diagnosed as there is no definitive test for Parkinson’s although a Datscan can give a good indication in some cases. It may sound strange but in a way I was lucky that my Datascan was able to confirm Parkinson’s – it was better to know than be wondering what else it might be. At the end of the day while Parkinson’s obviously isn’t a good outcome it’s not as bad as other neurological conditions such as Motor Neuron Disease.

A lot has happened since 2018! I retired in March 2022. This wasn’t really on health grounds but when the chance to take voluntary early retirement arose my health was obviously a factor and it made sense to take advantage of the opportunity. Elaina has gone part-time and we are now making the most of life by going on holidays as often as we can incorporating our respective loves of cycling and table tennis.

Who know what the next five years will bring. For the first four years post diagnosis my symptoms were relatively mild but over the last year or so I’ve noticed a definite deterioration particularly in my walking and arm mobility. Hopefully both will stabilise rather than worsen over the next few years and I can continue to play table tennis and maybe even get up a small hill or two! I’ve also got a notion to start running but I’m a bit wary about the impact on my knees/shins!

Meanwhile in just over two weeks time I’ll return to Crete for the ITTF Parkinson’s Table Tennis World Championships. It would be nice to do well but it will be good just to be competing five years on from being diagnosed and six years on from that last visit to Crete!